Photowalking on vacations

photos by ©Efraín Bojórquez


all photos made with an Asahi Pentax Spotmatic and Kodak TriX 400 and Arista Edu 400 films, developed in Kodak D76 1+1

Se me está haciendo costumbre cuando salgo de vacaciones tomarme una mañana o una tarde para buscar fotografías por donde quiera que ande. Por supuesto, trato de que esta actividad no interfiera con el disfrute de mi familia. A veces, mientras estoy en esta primordial actividad, tomo notas mentales y, si puedo volver, lo hago. Si no, es sólo una fotografía. Familia mata foto… siempre!!

En esta ocasión tuvimos la fortuna de pasar una semana cerca de Playa del Carmen. Unas vacaciones de este calibre con niños complican un poco las logísticas de transporte… para decirlo bonito! Afortunadamente, estoy casado con una joya de mujer que me permite mis locuras repentinas a cambio de que yo le permita las suyas (salgo ganando en el intercambio!)

Las fotos que aquí comparto son de las instalaciones del hotel (que tiene una ambientación maravillosa), de un par de sitios turísticos y un poco de sabor local de la zona comercial de Playa del Carmen.

Definitivamente me quedo con ganas de volver en un plan más fotográfico. Quiero conectar con la gente y traerme un poco de esa esencia hospitalaria que con tan buena fama mantiene este rinconcito de México como uno de los mejores lugares en el mundo para desconectarse un rato de la realidad.

I’m getting into the habit of taking a morning or afternoon to look out for photos wherever we go on vacations. Of course, I try to not interfere with me enjoying my family. Some times, when I’m in this important part of the vacations (enjoyment of said family), I take mental notes and come back to the site if possible. If not, it’s just a photo. Family trumps photos… every time!!

This time we were lucky enough to be invited to spend a week near Playa del Carmen. Let me tell you, a vacation of this caliber with kids surely complicates matters a bit. Specially when it comes to transportation. Fortunately, I’m married to a women made of pure gold that gives me space for some photographic shenanigans as long as I give her space for hers (I’m at an advantage here!)

The photos I share in this post are of the hotel’s facilities (incredible ambience), a couple of archaelogical sites and a bit of local flavors from the commercial district in Playa del Carmen.

I definitely want to comem back in a more photographic mood. I want to connect with the people and bring home a little bit of that hospitality that makes this slice of Mexico one of the best places in the world to unplug from reality for a while.

Responder

